top of page

You, A Makeup Artist?

\For starters, I have not always been a "makeup guru". Whenever someone says the phrase "were you raised in a barn?" my answer is in fact, yes. Yes I was. Growing up riding and competitively showing horses didn't leave much time to watch endless YouTube videos about how to contour or apply fake lashes. I hardly ever wore much makeup unless it was a special occasion because I mean really, what's the point when you spend all day getting covered in dirt and sweat and more times than not, the sweat of your equine partner as well?

(Picture taken before LipSense, obviously)

Fast forward to Freshman year of college. I started of my college career strong, getting ready every morning. Hair, makeup, a cute outfit, the whole nine yards. However anyone who has ever attended a university knows that this phase doesn't last very long. Especially when midterms roll around and all nighters in the library are necessary to make an A on your exam that is at 8 a.m. Once again, makeup was put on the back burner and used only for special occasions.

It wasn't until February of this year that I was even remotely interested in actually putting on a full face of makeup. If you would have told me then that I would make a career out of it, I would have laughed in your face. Very loudly.

So, it's February 20th and my mom asks me to go to a "makeup" party with her to support one of her friends. She tells me that this lipstick that will be sold at the party is smudge proof, kiss proof, and water proof. You can imagine my initial thought...."HAHA YEAH RIGHT". She also mentions the fact that this lipstick must be bought with a gloss and a remover and that it is $55. At the time, I was a full time college student with a part time job (and when I say part time, I mean like 10 hours a week) at a kiosk in the mall. So you can imagine my initial thought on that as well. Although I wasn't thrilled about it I agreed to go and even brought a friend with me. However as we were on our way to this lipstick party I was called into work. I dropped my mom and my friend off at the party and headed to the kiosk.

When I got home that night, my mom and friend were RAVING about this lipstick that "lasts up to 18 hours". I tried on the color my mom had purchased, Hazelnut, and I was immediately hooked. I needed this magical lipstick ASAP. My first thoughts were, "wow I can wear this all day at horse shows and never have to reapply. Plus I can kiss my sweet horsey all I want and not leave a bright red lip print on his white nose"(like pictured above). It was then that my friend said, "It's only $55 to sign up. You should do it, Haley. You could make so much money." MONEY? DID SOMEONE SAY MONEY? Ok, I'm in. The next morning I reached out to my mom's friend who hosted the party the night before and told her that I wanted to sign up. By February 25, I was an Independent Distributor for SeneGence International.

I immediately fell in love with the products. I also fell in love with the way I could use SeneGence products with other products as well. The longer I was in the company, the more I found myself spending hours watching those YouTube videos on how to contour and how to apply fake lashes. I fell in love with not only doing my own makeup, but putting makeup on my friends and family. Not long after I joined, I decided to pursue getting my Makeup Artist Certification through SeneGence, which I will have completed by January.

Fast forward again to today. Yes, don't get me wrong, the money is a blessing and I don't know many other college students who can work from home and not have to choose between eating something besides Ramen noodles and putting gas in their car. However this company is so much more than just a paycheck, and ironically, so much more than lipstick. I currently have a team of 40 amazing women. I have made friendships that I know will last a lifetime. I have gotten to travel. I have started my own business. Most importantly though, I have found my niche. I have found the answer to the question, "what do you want to be when you grow up?". I never dreamed that makeup would be what I wanted to make a career out of but here I am, making a living doing something that I love. I get to make women feel beautiful and in today's society, I can't think of a more important job. Thank you, SeneGence, and everyone I have come across in this company since February, for helping me find my place in this big 'ole world.

Thanks for reading and don't forget to subscribe. Catch ya next time, lovelies.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page